Skip to main content
Unstrat
Use the up and down arrows to move through results, Enter to open, Escape to close.

Our shutterless thermal weapon sight against Pulsar Thermion 2 XP50 Pro, AGM RattlerV2 50-640 and InfiRay RICO MK1 V2: no image freeze at the moment it matters.

These are all uncooled thermal rifle sights in the same class. The competitors publish longer detection ranges and finer sensitivity on paper. The point our sight is built around is one they mostly do not address: a shutterless, TEC-less core that never blanks the image to calibrate mid-engagement.

In service, not experimental

This is a fielded weapon sight, not a lab build. An uncooled vanadium-oxide 640x480 detector behind a 54 mm F/1.0 objective gives human recognition at 1,000 m and identification at 500 m, on a shutterless, TEC-less core that outputs a continuous image with real-time noise reduction. It runs six hours or more on two commodity 18650 cells, weighs no more than 880 g, is rated to 800 G shock and -40 to +55 degrees C, and records to 32 GB with Wi-Fi transmission.

Side by side

AttributeRepresented by UnstratThermal weapon sightPulsarThermion 2 XP50 Pro thermal riflescope1Lithuania / Belarus (Yukon Advanced Optics Worldwide)AGM Global VisionRattlerV2 50-640 thermal weapon sight2United StatesInfiRay OutdoorRICO MK1 V2 640 (RH50) thermal sight3United States (China-origin core)
Detector123The competitors publish finer sensitivity: our MRTD of 550 mK is a minimum resolvable temperature difference, a different and coarser measurement than the sub-25 mK NETD figures they quote. Compare on the live image, not the unit, because MRTD and NETD are not the same test.Uncooled VOx 640x480, 8-14 µm, MRTD 550 mK640x480, 17 µm, sensor NETD better than 25 mK, system NETD better than 18 mK640x512, 12 µm VOx, uncooled640x512, 12 µm, NETD better than 20 mK
Objective12354 mm F/1.0, FOV 8.1 x 6.5 degrees50 mm f/1.050 mm Germanium, FOV 8.8 x 7.0 degrees50 mm, 3x optical magnification
Shutterless, TEC-less core123Most uncooled cores use a mechanical shutter for flat-field correction, which briefly freezes the image. None of the three competitor pages read states a shutterless design, so a buyer who cannot afford an image freeze mid-engagement should confirm this point directly with each vendor.Yes: continuous image output, no freeze for calibration during an engagementNot published as shutterless; standard riflescope coreNot published as shutterlessNot published as shutterless
Detection / recognition range123The competitors quote a detection range, the easiest and longest of the DRI trio; we quote recognition and identification, which are shorter and harder. A 1,800 m detection figure and a 1,000 m recognition figure are not comparable numbers. Ask each vendor for detection, recognition and identification against the same target.Human recognition 1,000 m, identification 500 mDetection range 1,800 m (target size not stated on the page read)Detection range up to 2,600 m/yd (target size not stated)Detection range 2,400 yards (about 2,195 m; target size not stated)
Magnification and zoom1231x/2x/4x digital zoom, picture-in-picture2-16x, 4x digital zoom2.5x base, 2x-16x digital range3x optical, 4x digital
Display123OLED 1024x768, ±5D diopter adjustmentAMOLED 1024x768 (before 09/2024) or 1440x1080 (after 09/2024)Display resolution not published on the page readDisplay resolution not published on the page read
Battery and runtime123The competitors quote longer runtimes, but ours runs on two standard 18650 cells a unit can carry spares of anywhere, rather than a proprietary pack. In the field, a commodity cell you can swap matters more than an extra hour on a pack you cannot replace.Two commodity 18650 cells, six hours or moreInternal battery, about 10 hoursRechargeable battery pack, up to 11 hoursExternal USB-C and IBP-1 Li-ion battery pack
Weight123No more than 880 g900 gAbout 490 g (1.08 lb)Not published as a single weight on the page read
Ruggedness and temperature123800 G shock resistance, -40 to +55 degrees CIPX7 waterproof, -25 to +50 degrees CRecoil rated for common calibres; shock G figure not publishedRecoil to 1,000 g/s2 (300 Win/7mm Mag); temperature -20 to +50 degrees C
Recording and connectivity123Wi-Fi transmission, photo/video, 32 GB internal, electronic compass and pitch displayWi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, onboard photo/video recordingWi-Fi hotspot via app, shot-activated recordingRecording and app connectivity
Origin and export position123Independent, non-aligned origin, supplied and supported by one accountable teamYukon Advanced Optics Worldwide (Lithuania / Belarus roots)United States (export policy acknowledgement required at purchase)United States distribution of a China-origin thermal core

Competitor values are quoted from the vendor documents listed under Sources, as published on the date shown. Configurations vary, so treat every row as a starting point for the evaluation rather than a like-for-like test result.

What the table means

They win on paper sensitivity and range; read what those numbers measure.

Pulsar quotes a sub-25 mK sensor NETD, InfiRay sub-20 mK, and all three quote detection ranges from 1,800 m to 2,600 m. Those are real advantages on the datasheet. But two things temper the comparison. First, our 550 mK figure is an MRTD, a minimum resolvable temperature difference measured through the whole optical chain, which is a coarser and different test from a bare-sensor NETD; the honest way to compare is on the live image. Second, the competitors quote detection, the longest and easiest of the DRI trio, while we quote recognition at 1,000 m and identification at 500 m, which are shorter and harder. A 1,800 m detection number and a 1,000 m recognition number are not the same claim.

The shutterless core is the feature none of them states.

Almost every uncooled thermal core runs a mechanical shutter for flat-field correction, which briefly freezes the image while it recalibrates. On a hunting scope that is a nuisance; on a weapon sight in an engagement it is a blank frame at the wrong second. Our core is shutterless and TEC-less, so it outputs a continuous image with real-time noise reduction and never blanks to calibrate. None of the Pulsar, AGM or InfiRay pages read states a shutterless design. For a military sight, that is the difference worth pressing every vendor on, because it is a design choice, not a setting.

Commodity power and non-aligned supply favour the field.

The competitors quote longer runtimes on proprietary or internal packs; ours runs six hours or more on two standard 18650 cells that a soldier can carry spares of and swap in the dark. On origin, Pulsar's roots run to Belarus, AGM requires an export-policy acknowledgement at purchase, and the InfiRay RICO is a US-distributed sight built on a China-origin thermal core, all of which carry their own supply and export exposure. Our sight comes from an independent, non-aligned supplier, so the sight and its spares stay inside the operator's jurisdiction rather than on a foreign export or sanctions calendar.

Questions buyers ask

What is a good alternative to the Pulsar Thermion 2 or AGM Rattler for a military thermal weapon sight?

The Pulsar Thermion 2 XP50 Pro (640x480, 17 µm, sub-25 mK, 1,800 m detection), the AGM RattlerV2 50-640 (640x512, 12 µm, up to 2,600 m detection, about 490 g) and the InfiRay RICO MK1 V2 640 (640x512, 12 µm, sub-20 mK, 2,400 yd detection) are all strong civilian and dual-use sights. Ours is a 640x480 uncooled sight with a 54 mm F/1.0 objective, human recognition at 1,000 m, six hours on two commodity 18650 cells and under 880 g, built around a shutterless, TEC-less core that does not freeze the image to calibrate. If you need a sight that never blanks mid-engagement and comes from a non-aligned supplier, that is the reason to shortlist it.

Which thermal sight has the best sensitivity and detection range?

On paper the competitors publish finer sensitivity and longer detection: Pulsar sub-25 mK and 1,800 m, InfiRay sub-20 mK and 2,400 yd, AGM up to 2,600 m. But read what the numbers measure. Our 550 mK figure is an MRTD through the whole optical chain, a coarser and different test from a bare-sensor NETD, so compare on the live image. And the competitors quote detection, the longest DRI range, while we quote recognition at 1,000 m and identification at 500 m, which are shorter and harder. Ask each vendor for detection, recognition and identification against the same target before ranking them.

What does a shutterless, TEC-less thermal sight actually change?

It stops the image freezing. Most uncooled thermal cores use a mechanical shutter for flat-field correction, which blanks the picture for a fraction of a second while it recalibrates. On a weapon sight that can be a blank frame during an engagement. Our core is shutterless and TEC-less, so it outputs a continuous image with real-time noise reduction and never blanks to calibrate. None of the Pulsar, AGM or InfiRay pages read states a shutterless design, so if this matters to you, confirm it with each vendor directly rather than assuming it.

Can I run the sight on standard batteries in the field?

Yes. It runs six hours or more on two commodity 18650 lithium cells, which a soldier can carry spares of and swap in the dark. The competitors quote longer runtimes, about 10 hours for the Pulsar and up to 11 for the AGM, but on internal or proprietary packs. In the field a standard cell you can replace anywhere often beats an extra hour on a pack you cannot source, so weigh the runtime against how easily you can resupply the battery.

Is this a fielded weapon sight or a prototype?

Fielded. It is a 640x480 uncooled thermal weapon sight in service, rated to 800 G shock and -40 to +55 degrees C, with human recognition at 1,000 m, the shutterless TEC-less core, Wi-Fi transmission and 32 GB recording quoted here as the delivered specification.

Does it matter where a thermal weapon sight comes from?

For a military sight it matters a great deal. Pulsar's corporate roots run to Belarus, which carries sanctions exposure; AGM requires an export-policy acknowledgement at purchase; the InfiRay RICO is a US-distributed sight built on a China-origin thermal core, which carries its own supply and export exposure. Our sight comes from an independent, non-aligned supplier, so the sight and its spares stay inside your jurisdiction rather than on a foreign export or sanctions calendar. The imaging physics is similar across the field; the supply relationship is what differs.

Sources

  1. 1. Pulsar (Yukon Advanced Optics Worldwide), Pulsar Thermion 2 XP50 Pro thermal riflescope specificationsRetrieved: 2026-08-15 · Read from the distributor specification table: 640x480 17 µm sensor, sensor NETD better than 25 mK, system NETD better than 18 mK, 50 mm f/1.0, 2-16x, detection range 1,800 m, display 1024x768 or 1440x1080, IPX7, -25 to +50 degrees C, 412x78x83 mm, 900 g, about 10 hours battery.
  2. 2. AGM Global Vision, AGM Rattler V2 50-640 thermal weapon sight specificationsRetrieved: 2026-08-15 · Read from the retailer specification table backed by the AGM data sheet: 640x512 12 µm VOx, 50 mm Germanium lens, 2.5x base magnification, detection up to 2,600 m/yd, FOV 8.8 x 7.0 degrees, 50 Hz, up to 11 hours on a rechargeable pack, about 490 g (1.08 lb), 10 reticles.
  3. 3. InfiRay Outdoor, InfiRay Outdoor RICO MK1 V2 640 (RH50) thermal sight specificationsRetrieved: 2026-08-15 · Read from the vendor specification table: 640x512 12 µm, NETD better than 20 mK, 50 mm objective, 3x optical and 4x digital magnification, 60 Hz, detection range 2,400 yards, recoil to 1,000 g/s2, USB-C and IBP-1 Li-ion power.
Next step on this comparison

Send us the requirement and the systems you are weighing. We will map this table onto it.